Apple’s Lockdown mode on iPhone and who should activate it
Apple has already started rolling out its new IOS 16 from 12th Sept. iOS 16 brings with it a number of fresh features such as an interactive lock screen and the ability to edit and unsend recently sent iMessages. Along with these fabulous features apple has brought in one new security feature called “Lockdown mode”. It offers additional protection to Apple device owners who may be at risk from targeted cyberattacks.
What is Lockdown Mode?
Lockdown Mode is an optional, extreme protection that’s designed for the very few individuals who, because of who they are or what they do, might be personally targeted by some of the most sophisticated digital threats. Most people are never targeted by attacks of this nature.
When Lockdown Mode is enabled for your device, your device won’t function like it typically does. It helps mobile user to reduce the attack surface that potentially could be exploited by highly targeted mercenary spyware, certain apps, websites, and features are strictly limited for security and some experiences might not be available at all.
How Lockdown Mode protects your device
When Lockdown Mode is enabled, some apps and features will function differently, including:
- Messages – Most message attachment types are blocked, other than certain images, video, and audio. Some features, such as links and link previews, are unavailable.
- Web browsing – Certain complex web technologies are blocked, which might cause some websites to load more slowly or not operate correctly. In addition, web fonts might not be displayed, and images might be replaced with a missing image icon.
- FaceTime – Incoming FaceTime calls are blocked unless you have previously called that person or contact.
- Apple Services – Incoming invitations for Apple Services, such as invitations to manage a home in the Home app, are blocked unless you have previously invited that person.
- Shared albums – Shared albums are removed from the Photos app, and new Shared Album invitations are blocked. You can still view these shared albums on other devices that don’t have Lockdown Mode enabled.
- USB accessories – To connect your device to a USB accessory or another computer, the device needs to be unlocked.
- Configuration profiles – Configuration profiles can’t be installed, and the device can’t be enrolled in Mobile Device Management or device supervision while in Lockdown Mode.
Phone calls and plain text messages continue to work while Lockdown Mode is enabled. Emergency features, such as SOS emergency calls, are not affected.
How to enable Lockdown Mode on iPhone
- Open the Settings app.
- Tap Privacy & Security.
- Under Security, tap Lockdown Mode and tap Turn On Lockdown Mode.
- Tap Turn On Lockdown Mode.
- Tap Turn On & Restart, then enter your device passcode.
When Lockdown Mode is enabled, you might receive notifications when an app or feature is limited, and a banner in Safari indicates that Lockdown Mode is on.